Mask requirement goes into effect for businesses
As of Monday, businesses in Michigan are required to deny entry to anyone who is not wearing a face mask under an executive order issued last week by Governor Gretchen Whitmer.
That has some people breathing a sigh of relief and others fuming.
“We are frustrated that she did not leave the policing to law enforcement officers,” said Bill Hallan, the president and CEO of the Michigan Retailers Association, in a statement. “This puts retail employees in potentially dangerous situations when they’re forced to confront unmasked customers.”
Mask wearing has been a requirement in enclosed public spaces in Michigan since April, but many retailers have been been lax in enforcing the rule and some have been outright hostile.
In a press conference last Thursday, Whitmer most businesses are following the order.
“These businesses are also asking for tougher rules so that they can point to it and say this is the law,” she said.
The order also requires people to wear masks outdoors when social distancing is unfeasible. Defying the mask order is now a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine of up to $500.
There are exceptions to the rule for:
- Children under age five
- People exercising
- While eating or drinking
- During religious ceremonies
- People who can’t medically tolerate a mask
You can read more at Bridge Magazine.
The average story costs NowKalamazoo $400 to produce. Donate to fund stories like this.